PHP-GTK in a Day

Email
Submitted on: 1/1/2015 9:41:00 AM
By: Josh Sherman (from psc cd)  
Level: Intermediate
User Rating: By 4 Users
Compatibility: PHP 4.0
Views: 1970

PHP-GTK is a hot new extension for the PHP language allowing for cross-platform GUI development. This tutorial is meant to help explain PHP-GTK and how to use it to develop your own GUI application.

First, I would like to mention that this tutorial assumes you already have some basic knowledge of PHP, and have installed the PHP-GTK package (http://gtk.php.net/download.php). If you are new to PHP, then please check out my PHP 101 tutorial before proceeding.

Recently, I've found myself moving further and further away from application development, and more into web development. This isn't a bad thing, until the day you need to code an application and realize you don't know where to begin.

C isn't my favorite language, seeing as I'm a very amature programmer with the language. Perl and I aren't really friends anymore, and VB is out of the question now that I run Linux full time.

This would normally be a problem, but there is a new kid on the block, PHP-GTK. If you weren't aware already, I love PHP and if it were possible, I'd want it to have my children. Back to the point, PHP-GTK is a new extension of the PHP language that allows you (the developer) to write client-side, cross-platform GUI applications.

Pretty sexy, huh?

PHP-GTK utilizes the GTK+ libraries which are used to create graphical user interfaces. This technology was originally developed for the GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program) and has become a large part of Gnome.

As mentioned, PHP-GTK is cross-platform, allowing for applications to be developed on Linux and Windows.