BUILDING AN ASSEMBLER step by step (1

Email
Submitted on: 1/3/2015 5:13:00 PM
By: vivek mohan (from psc cd)  
Level: Advanced
User Rating: By 4 Users
Compatibility: C
Views: 4126

Hi ya all ! This is my first attempt to create an assembler called Universal ASM. And I decided to do it step by step sharing with you all. Please appreciate this effort by voting for me and sending your feedback on this project....

This article has accompanying files

|		 (Session 1)
 | 		By Vivek Mohan
 | 
 |Visit me at http://www.geocities.com/cppresources/
 | or shoot me an email at opendev@phreaker.net
 |
 | To join the mailing list for BUILDING AN ASSEMBLER 
 | step by step, mail to opendev@phreaker.net with the
 | subject field = join UASM mail with a little info about
 | yourself.
 |___________________________________________________________
 {{{{ INTRODUCTION }}}}
 Hi there ! Firstly thanx for taking a look at this. Frankly speaking I'm no ASM 
 Guru, but this is my first attempt towards creating an Assembler. I know very well
 that there are many people who are really interested in things like this, so I 
 decided to develop step by step, uploading each step and waiting for your feedback
 on suggestions, bugs and stuff like that. And I hope you appreciate the whole 
 effort by sending me you feedback on this project. You are always welcome 
 to contribute to this project.
 {{{{ THE ASSEMBLER }}}}
 I've named the assembler UNIVERSAL ASSEMBLER or UASM. The first version of UASM
 will assemble for the 8086 intel architecture. UASM will be an integral part of
 OPOS the open source operating system under development.
 {{{{ STEP 1 }}}}
 By the end of this session..
 1. UASM will assemble two simple types of MOV instructions

mov offset, accumulator regs
	mov regs , Imm8/16

2. UASM will assemble the two interrupt instructions
	int Imm8
	int3
 3. UASM will assemble the return instructions
	ret
 By the end of this session, using UASM we'll be able to use UASM to build a COM