Repost: ADO.Net Primer + Programming databases using OLE DB with ADO.Net

Email
Submitted on: 1/3/2015 12:05:00 AM
By: TeknikForce (from psc cd)  
Level: Beginner
User Rating: By 6 Users
Compatibility: VB.NET
Views: 1447

Moving from ADO to ADO.Net? Planning to access a Non SQL Server database? This article talks about databases on your hard disk, and discusses almost all of the important ADO.Net classes.

ADO.Net Primer + Programming databases using OLE DB with ADO.Net

By Cyril Gupta

Although I’ve been working with Visual Basic for several years now (started with Visual Basic 3.0), and I was quick to adopt the newer versions of Visual Basic as they came, I was a rather late entrant on the .Net scene.

But migration to .Net had to occur eventually, so here I am working with .Net, and to keep me company, I’ve decided to write a series of articles.

Acessing Local Databases

Read .Net books or tutorials and they will tell you that data access in VB.Net is pretty straightforward using Ado.Net, Microsoft’s replacement for ADO. However, if you’ve been using DAO and ADO long enough like I, you’ll soon be lost among the swamp of new classes and properties that ADO.Net exposes.

ADO.Net has two primary clients to establish the connection with the data: The SQLClient and OLEDB.

The SQLClient is designed to connect only and only to Microsoft SQL Server databases, while the OLEDB client allows you to connect to any database that has an OLE DB server.

This is where I was lost for quite a while. Almost all of the examples in database programming books that I saw were exclusively based on the SQLClient class. Good, but what about the programmers who don’t use SQL Server, or make applications that has to be deployed on PCs that don’t have SQL Server installed?

As a maker of packaged applications I use Jet Databases most of the time and my apps are used by thousands of users. I can’t force them to install SQL Server.

You’ve got two options.

a) Stick to ADO