Java - 'Hello World' for absolute beginners

Email
Submitted on: 1/2/2015 5:41:00 PM
By: michael worthington (from psc cd)  
Level: Beginner
User Rating: By 2 Users
Compatibility: Java (JDK 1.2)
Views: 2015

the purpose of this tutorial is to teach beginner java programmers how to make their first program. it is a simple 'Hello World' program that they make, but it covers a lot of basics to writing, compiling, and running a program on your computer.

INTRO TO JAVA - WRITTEN BY: M.WORTHINGTON [12.01.01]

...so you've decided to learn a little java. yes this is java, not java srcipt. i'll be making tutorials as often as possible to share my knowledge of the programming language and allow you to learn something new.
...first let me share my background on the topic. i'm currently a college freshman and am studying the language for the first time. i've had experience in visual basic, basic, and c++. so while i'm not an expert in java, i can still share what i learn each week in class. so basically you'll be getting a free college education of java.
...if you've ever read and programming book they spend a couple chapters explaining computers and how programs methodically work. i'm not going to do that. for you to learn from my tutorials you'll have to have some basic understanding of the world of programming. even if you don't, you should still be able to learn from me.
...so here we go

while java is an internet language, you program it and run it right on your computer. first, you're going to need the java runtimes on your computer. i suggest going to http://java.sun.com to download JavaTM 2 SDK, Standard Edition, v 1.2.2. follow all of the installation instructions, because you will need to edit one line of text in your autoexec batch file. the instructions from the program should explain what to do. if you are having trouble, hit up the message boards for help.